USA vs. Spain: Men’s Basketball Preview

Bet Summer Games with William Hill, America’s #1 sportsbook.

Just eight men’s basketball teams remain in Tokyo, as the quarterfinals tip off tonight. USA is three wins away from a fourth straight gold, however a talented Spain squad is the first obstacle ahead at 12:40 a.m. ET/9:40 p.m. PT.

After being upset by France in its first game in Tokyo, USA ripped off two straight victories against Iran and Czech Republic to move on to the next stage. Spain also went 2-1 in its first three contest, dropping its last showdown to Luka Doncic and Slovenia.

USA opened as an 11.5-point favorite over Spain at William Hill Nevada, but that spread has since jumped up a point to USA -12.5. The moneylines also swung from USA -800/Spain +550 to USA -900/Spain +600, whereas the total hasn’t budged from its original number of 179.

Not only do most William Hill bettors think USA will advance to the semifinals, but they also think the favorite will cover the big number in the process.

USA has nabbed 76% of the total number of tickets and 77% of the total dollars wagered among all spread bets against Spain.

Additionally, one Nevada bettor put $10,800 on USA ML -900 for a total potential payout of $12,000. That is the largest bet taken thus far at William Hill for this USA vs. Spain showdown.

USA men’s basketball is also atop the board at William Hill Nevada to win it all in Tokyo, currently serving as the -225 odds-on favorite. Slovenia is next at +400, with Australia and France in range at +800 and +850 respectively. Spain follows at 18/1, then three longshots bring up the rear: Italy at 40/1, Argentina at 50/1 and Germany at 100/1.

The three other men’s basketball quarterfinal clashes are also available at William Hill Nevada: Slovenia (-16.5) vs. Germany at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT, Italy vs. France (-8.5) at 4:20 a.m. ET/1:20 a.m. PT and Australia (-8.5) vs. Argentina at 8 a.m. ET/5 a.m. PT.

Check out William Hill’s latest odds for the quarterfinal matchup between USA and Spain in men’s basketball below.

Fall Rewards

This fall William Hill Nevada is giving you the chance to earn cash back with Fall Rewards! Enroll before December 31st, 2022 and you will receive Fall Rewards

Read More »

NOTWITHSTANDING ANYTHING TO THE CONTRARY IN THIS AGREEMENT, WILLIAM HILL MAY TERMINATE THIS AGREEMENT WITH OR WITHOUT NOTICE IF ILLINOIS EXECUTIVE ORDER 2020-41 EXPIRES, IS TERMINATED, ENDED OR WITHDRAWN, OR HELD INVALID.  

Executive Order 2020-41 states in pertinent part that “During the duration of the Gubernatorial Disaster Proclamations, the provisions in the Sports Wagering Act, 230 ILCS 45/25-30(f), 25-35(f), and 25-40(i) requiring in-person creation of a sports wagering account at a facility authorized pursuant to the Act in order to participate in sports wagering offered over the internet or through a mobile application, are suspended.”    

IF YOU DO NOT AGREE WITH THIS AGREEMENT (OR ARE NOT AUTHORIZED TO DO SO) YOU MAY NOT JOIN THE WHAP.