USA vs. Nigeria: Women’s Basketball Preview

Bet Summer Games with William Hill, America’s #1 sportsbook.

Women’s basketball tipped off in Tokyo yesterday, with Spain edging South Korea and Serbia coming out on top over Canada. The USA will play its first contest in against Nigeria at 12:40 a.m. ET/9:40 p.m. PT, and will look for a historic win in the process.

The USA women have won 49 consecutive games since losing in the quarterfinals of the 1992 Summer Games in Barcelona. Besides aiming for an even 50 straight in their upcoming matchup with Nigeria, the USA is also vying for a seventh straight gold medal. 

The USA women’s roster is headlined by four-time gold medalists Diana Taurasi and Sue Bird along with the reigning WNBA MVP (A’ja Wilson) and WNBA Finals MVP (Breanna Stewart). 

Heading into last night’s games, the USA was the -1100 favorite to win the gold medal at William Hill, with Australia possessing the second-lowest odds at 10/1. 

For tonight, USA (-10000 on the moneyline) is now a 30-point favorite over Nigeria (+2500 ML) at William Hill Nevada after opening at -31. The total hasn’t changed from its original number, staying put so far at 153.5.

The majority of the total number of tickets and total dollars wagered are on opposite sides for the spread. While the USA has captured 64% of the total number of tickets, Nigeria actually has the advantage with 75% of the total dollars wagered.

That includes one Nevada bettor who put down $2,200 on Nigeria +31 (-110) for a total potential payout of $4,200, which is the biggest bet taken for this showdown as of now at William Hill. 

William Hill also has odds posted for three other upcoming women’s basketball clashes: France (-7.5) vs. Japan at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT, Belgium vs. Australia (-8) at 4:20 a.m. ET/1:20 a.m. PT and China (-17.5) vs. Puerto Rico at 8 a.m. ET/5 a.m. PT.

Check out William Hill’s latest odds for USA vs. Nigeria below.

Summer Rewards

This summer William Hill Nevada is giving you the chance to earn cash back with Summer Rewards! (NEVADA ONLY) Enroll before August 5th and you will

Read More »

NOTWITHSTANDING ANYTHING TO THE CONTRARY IN THIS AGREEMENT, WILLIAM HILL MAY TERMINATE THIS AGREEMENT WITH OR WITHOUT NOTICE IF ILLINOIS EXECUTIVE ORDER 2020-41 EXPIRES, IS TERMINATED, ENDED OR WITHDRAWN, OR HELD INVALID.  

Executive Order 2020-41 states in pertinent part that “During the duration of the Gubernatorial Disaster Proclamations, the provisions in the Sports Wagering Act, 230 ILCS 45/25-30(f), 25-35(f), and 25-40(i) requiring in-person creation of a sports wagering account at a facility authorized pursuant to the Act in order to participate in sports wagering offered over the internet or through a mobile application, are suspended.”    

IF YOU DO NOT AGREE WITH THIS AGREEMENT (OR ARE NOT AUTHORIZED TO DO SO) YOU MAY NOT JOIN THE WHAP.